Function Fields and L-functions
A conference in honor of David Hayes

November 15 -- 17, 2002
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

After 35 years of distinguished service at UMass Amherst, David Hayes will retire at the end of June 2002. In honor of David's many contributions to Mathematics, the Five College Number Theory Seminar will hold a meeting on November 15 (Friday) -- November 17 (Sunday). There is no registration fee for this conference. The schedule of the talks are as follow:




Nov 15

Benedict Gross (Harvard University)

David Hayes's work on Drinfeld modules and Stark's conjecture

Nov 16

Dinesh Thakur (Univ of Arizona)

Special values of Zeta and Gamma functions

Nov 16

Bruno Angles (UniversitÚ de Caen)

Bernoulli type numbers and ideal class groups of Cyclotomic Function Fields

Nov 16

Greg Anderson (Univ of Minnesota)

Kronecker-Weber plus epsilon

Nov 16

Marc Reversat (UniversitÚ Paul Sabatier at Toulouse)

From positive characteristic to zero characteristic, towards a geometric correspondence for $\sigma $-difference equations

Nov 16

Cristian Popescu (Johns Hopkins)

On the conjectures of Brumer-Stark and Gross

Nov 17

Ernst-Ulrich Gekeler (Universitńt des Saarlandes)

Frobenius distributions of elliptic curves over finite prime fields

Nov 17

Harold Stark (UCSD)

p-adic Dirichlet series over quadratic fields

The meeting will begin on Friday afternoon and end early afternoon on Sunday. There will be a banquet on Saturday evening. All talks will take place in Room 1634, Lederle Graduate Research Tower. Department of Mathematics & Statistics, UMass Amherst.


A block of rooms has been reserved at the UMass Campus Center Hotel. A single room is $70 per night plus tax; a double room is $80 per night plus tax. Please call 413-549-6000 or email Tina at and mention
"group number 747, Mathematics & Statistics".
November is a busy travel season here, so we urge you to make a reservation as soon as possible.

If you have further questions please feel free to contact the Organizing Committee:
Greg Call (Amherst College), Margaret Robinson (Mount Holyoke College), and Siman Wong (UMass Amherst).